New Leadership in UNITRAV

Twelfth Union of Trekking Travels, Rafting and Airlines Workers – Nepal (UNITRAV) convention has been concluded in Kathmandu electing 24-member new committee under the Presidency of Cde. Suman Parajuli.

The Convention elected Cde. Tika Pun, Cde.Milan Tamang and Amber Tamang as vice-Presidents , Cde.Ram Bahadur Shrestha as General Secretary, Cde. Tulasi Prasad Subedi as Deputy General Secretary, Cde. Fongoma Sherpa and Cde. Khila Nath Dahal as Secretaries.

The Convention was inaugurated by GEFONT President Cde. Bishnu Rimal. Inaugurating the Convention Cde. Rimal expressed his pleasure on UNITRAV’s effort to  organize tourism sector workers .On the relationship between employers and workers, President said, to achieve more and more benefits for both parties, employers and workers should move  ahead  creating harmonious relationship . President also  recalled the Struggle of around 20 years to establish Social Security Act. Therefore he requested everyone to involve in contribution based Social Security. President further stressed about the importance to aware everyone that even informal workers can be covered by the New Social Security Act.

On the occasion, ILO Governing Body Deputy member Cde. Binda pandey highlighted the contribution of Late Cde. Nhuru Wanchhu Sherpa and late Cde. Dorje Khatri for the strengthening the Union.

On the occasion,  TAAN President Mr.Chandra Rijal ,Member of Nepal Tourism Board Mr.Krishna Aryal also  addressed the Programme.

Newly elected Committee Members were sworn in by the GEFONT Secretary General Cde. Bishnu Lamsal.During the Ceromony General Secretary conveyed best wishes for successful tenure for  Newly Elected Committee .

Follow us on